PBA Workers’ Compensation Section Announces Names of Lawyers Newly Certified in Area of Workers’ Compensation Law

HARRISBURG, Pa. (April 19, 2024) – Three lawyers are newly certified by the Pennsylvania Bar Association (PBA) Workers’ Compensation Law Section as specialists in the practice of workers’ compensation law. They join 161 lawyers currently holding certification. For a complete list of certified workers’ compensation specialists, visit https://bit.ly/3UpvWAi.

In 2012, the Pennsylvania Supreme Court approved a recommendation of the PBA Review and Certifying Board to grant accreditation to the PBA Workers’ Compensation Law Section as a certifying organization in the area of workers’ compensation law. With the Supreme Court’s order, the PBA Workers’ Compensation Law Section became the first bar association entity in Pennsylvania to receive approval as a certifying organization.

Certified applicants are permitted to use the following language when communicating their certifications to the public: “Certified as a specialist in the practice of workers' compensation law by the Pennsylvania Bar Association's Section on Workers' Compensation Law as authorized by the Pennsylvania Supreme Court.” A lawyer successfully completing the exam is certified for five years.

Below are the names of the lawyers who have successfully completed the 2023 certification process:

Allegheny County

Rhonda Rudman, Thomson Rhodes & Cowie PC, Pittsburgh

Philadelphia County

Jenna King, Martin Law LLC, Philadelphia

Timothy Worrall, Martin Law LLC, Philadelphia

The certification exam focuses on familiar portions of workers’ compensation law and rules, as well as leading case law. Lawyers taking the exam had four hours to complete 100 multiple-choice questions (each worth one point) and two essays (each worth 10 points). Passage of the exam requires a score of at least 80 points. The examination questions are revised annually to incorporate new developments and eliminate repetitive questions.

To qualify for the exam, an applicant must establish by documentation that he or she is admitted to practice law in Pennsylvania, is actively engaged in the practice of law for a minimum of five years and is devoting a minimum of 50 percent of his or her practice to the specialty field of workers’ compensation.

Applicants also are required to submit a variety of documents showing active practice in the workers’ compensation law field and participation in Mandatory Continuing Legal Education in workers’ compensation law and related fields.

The Certification Committee has the authority to revoke certification under certain circumstances, and the committee has an appeal process for such cases.