Edgar and Jean Camper Cahn Law and Social Justice Award

The Pennsylvania Bar Association and Swarthmore College have teamed up since 2011 to annually give the Edgar and Jean Camper Cahn Law and Social Justice Award to honor the Swarthmore College student who has contributed the most to Chester City youth courts. the PBA passed a recommendation supporting the development of youth courts in 2011.

The Cahns met at Swarthmore College where Edgar graduated in 1956 and Jean in 1957, the year they married. They then both attended Yale Law School and devoted their careers not to personal gain but to improving the lives of others. Their lives (Jean passed in 1991; Edgar passed away in January 2022) are a testament to the values Swarthmore College teaches, the Pennsylvania Bar Association promotes, and America was founded on: opportunity and equality for all and, a fair chance in the race of life.

Learn about the Cahn Collaborative at https://pcssonline.org/the-cahn-collaborative/

2019 Winner, John Fan

Pictured are. left to right, PBA Pro Bono Coordinator David Trevaskis, Swarthmore College Professor Ben Berger, Dr. Edgar Cahn, John Fan, Cahn Collaborative Founder Gregg Volz and Dr. Christine Gray.

Read more


2017 Winner, Jasmin Rodriguez-Schroeder
Read more.

2016 Winner, Tobias Levy
Tobias B. Levy, a December 2016 graduate of Swarthmore College, received the sixth annual PBA Swarthmore College Edgar and Jean Camper Cahn Law and Social Justice Award on Nov. 29. He was honored by the PBA Legal Services to the Public Committee and Pro Bono Office for his work with attorney Gregg Volz of EducationWorks supporting youth courts. Shown below, Levy is presented with the award by PBA President-elect Sharon R. López and award namesake Edgar Cahn. Read more.

2015 Winner, Ciara Williams
Read more.

2014 Winner, Naudia Williams
Naudia Williams, a 2014 graduate of Swarthmore College, received the fourth annual Swarthmore College Edgar and Jean Camper Cahn Law and Social Justice Award on June 1, 2014. Shown below with Williams are, from left, David Trevaskis, PBA pro bono coordinator and award presenter; Swarthmore professor Ben Berger; Gregg Volz, director of the Regional Youth Court Support Center at EducationWork; and Maurice Eldridge, Swarthmore vice president for College and Community Relations and executive assistant to the president. Read more.

2013 Winner, Jennifer Kaur Koch
Shown below, Jennifer Kaur Koch, center, receives her award. Read more.

2012 Winner, Sofia Saiyed
Shown below, Sofia Saiyed received her award. Read more.

2011 Winner, Shilpa Boppana
Read more and see photos from the award presentation.



100 South Street, Harrisburg, PA 17101

Phone: 800-932-0311

Western Pennsylvania Office:

Heinz 57 Center, 339 Sixth Avenue, Suite 760
Pittsburgh, PA 15222 Phone: 412-914-8840