Second Annual Pro Bono Dinner

The Wyoming/Sullivan County Bar Association hosted its second annual pro bono recognition dinner on April 3, 2004, at Eagles Mere Country Club. The dinner was planned and coordinated by the Pro Bono Committee, which is composed of Kelly Carrubba, Paul Litwin and Deborah Albert-Heise. The annual Pro Bono Award was presented to Helen R. Vanston for providing exemplary pro bono representation during the previous year. A posthumous award was presented to David P. Posatko, and accepted by his widow, in recognition of all the pro bono representation that attorney Posatko provided to communities in Wyoming and Sullivan counties.

The outstanding success of the two-year-old Pro Bono Program is a result of 100 percent participation of all bar members. Since its inception, the program has continually increased the pro bono representation available. Placement and matching of cases to pro bono attorneys increased over 200 percent in the second year. Deborah Albert-Heise was appointed pro bono coordinator for the program under the auspices of the Wyoming/Sullivan County Bar Association Pro Bono Committee.