2008 PBA Pro Bono Conference and Pro Bono Awardees
The 2008 PBA Pro Bono Conference, funded by a generous grant from the Pennsylvania Bar Foundation, was held in tandem with the PBA on the Hill program, Monday, May 5, in Harrisburg at the state Capitol. Pro Bono Award winners were honored by YLD Chair Bill Higgins and Pro Bono Coordinator David Trevaskis as part of the Pro Bono Conference that afternoon. A highlight of the PBA on the Hill event was the reception in the Capitol Rotunda, during which PBA Pro Bono Award winners were again honored. Click here to view reception photos. Click here to view photos from the Pro Bono Conference. And click here for the conference agenda.

Details on 2008 Pro Bono Award Winners

2008 Pro Bono Winners List by County

Memo from PBA President Andy Susko Announcing Awards Nominations Period, Jan. 2, 2008

Fedak, Mumma Honored at 2008 PBA Annual Meeting for Work on Desktop Reference Manual
Laurel Hettinger Fedak, Military and Veterans Affairs Committee vice chair (far left) and PBI's Andrea Mumma received special Presidential Recognition Awards from outgoing PBA President Andy Susko (at podium) and incoming PBA President C. Dale McClain at the 2008 PBA Annual Meeting Awards Breakfast. The awards recognize their work in developing the Military and Veterans Affairs Desktop Reference Manual for use by attorneys working on legal assistance for military personnel.

Jason A. Leckerman Wins 2008 Pro Bono and Alan J. Davis Awards
PBA Immediate Past President Andy Susko (left) joined Ballard Spahr Andrews & Ingersoll L.L.P. Chairman Arthur Makadon (right) in presenting a 2008 PBA Pro Bono Award to Ballard associate Jason A. Leckerman. Susko and PBA Pro Bono Coordinator David Trevaskis made the presentation at the dedication of the Alan J. Davis Award at Ballard's Philadelphia office on June 10. Leckerman also received the first Davis Award, making him a double winner that day.
    Leckerman was recognized by the PBA and Ballard for his advocacy on behalf of a Guinean refugee who could not hear, speak or communicate through sign language.
    The Davis Award is named for an esteemed Ballard litigator and former city solicitor who died suddenly in 2007. Ballard created the annual award in his memory to honor an individual or group at the firm for exemplary legal representation in a matter involving the public good. The award carries a prize of $25,000, which the firm donates to an organization of the winner's choosing. Leckerman split his Davis prize money among three agencies: HIAS & Council Migration Service of Philadelphia; Philadelphia Legal Assistance; and Berks Deaf & Hard of Hearing Services.

ABA YLD Wills for Heroes Project Garners Awards
The ABA Section Officers Conference (SOC) presented the Meritorious Service Award to the ABA Young Lawyers Division's Wills for Heroes Project during the 2008 ABA Annual Meeting.
     Established in 1994, the award recognizes the important contributions ABA sections, divisions and forum committees make to the life and work of the ABA. The award is given to the section, division or forum committee that has sponsored a program, project or other initiative in past year that is of extraordinary benefit to the profession, the public and/or the association.
    Click here for more information on the project.

Daniel J.T. McKenna (center), an associate at Ballard Spahr Andrews & Ingersoll L.L.P. in Philadelphia and a director of the Wills for Heroes Foundation, accepts the SOC Meritorious Service Award from William H. Neukom, then-ABA president (left), and Anthony A. Joseph, chair of the SOC Meritorious Service Award Committee. McKenna also received the ABA YLD "Star of the Year Award" for his service as ABA YLD Public Service Coordinator and his efforts with the Wills for Heroes Project.

McKenna (third from left), accepts an award from the U.S. Park Police in recognition of the Wills for Heroes Foundation's outstanding efforts on behalf of and dedication to the U.S. Park Police. The award was created specifically for this program. Photo by Michael Taft.