Winners of 27th Annual Print Media Awards

HARRISBURG (Nov. 3, 2006) - Pennsylvania Bar Association President Kenneth J. Horoho Jr. and Carl Solano, Esq., of Schnader Harrison Segal & Lewis L.L.P., today announced the winners of the 2006 William A. Schnader Print Media Awards. The awards, which honor journalistic excellence in news or feature reporting of the legal system and its operations, were presented during the Pennsylvania Newspaper Association's "Newspaper of the Year" luncheon in Philadelphia.

Funded by the national law firm of Schnader Harrison Segal & Lewis LLP, the awards competition was founded 27 years ago in memory of former state attorney general and PBA president William A. Schnader. The awards recognize excellence in print journalism, particularly articles that foster greater public understanding of the legal system and the roles of society and the law, the courts, law enforcement agencies and the legal profession.

The winners are as follows:

Beat Coverage: Daily Newspapers 49,000+ Circ. 1st Place:Associated Press,Mark Scolforo, Three Beat Coverage Articles (No second place award presented)

Beat Coverage: Daily Newspapers Under 49,000 Circ. 1st Place:York Daily Record,Lauri Lebo, "Dover Intelligent Design"
2nd Place: The Legal Intelligencer, Hank Grezlak, Three Beat Coverage Articles

Beat Coverage: Weekly Newspapers 1st Place: Pennsylvania Law Weekly, Daniel E. Cummins, Two Beat Coverage Articles
2nd Place: Montgomery Newspapers, Linda Finarelli, Three Beat Coverage Articles

Special Report/Series 1st Place: Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, Barbara White Stack, "In Harm's Way"
1st Place: Tioga Publishing Company, Gayle Morrow, "Attorney John F. Murphy Suspended from Law Practice" (Tied scoring resulted in two 1st Place Awards; no 2nd Place Award presented)