About PBA         Casemaker         Pennsylvania Bar Institute         Pennsylvania Bar Foudation         Calendar Calendar                
For Lawyers                          For the Public                          Events & Education                          News & Publications                          Get Involved
The Chief Justice John P. Flaherty Award

The CCBL Executive Committee created the Chief Justice John P. Flaherty Award in 2001 in recognition of the Chief Justice’s efforts to encourage the work of the Pennsylvania Bar Association and its Conference of County Bar Leaders. The award is given to a qualified Pennsylvania Bar Association member to recognize an outstanding effort to promote the objects and purposes of the Conference of County Bar Leaders and to improve the legal profession, the justice system or the community. The award need not be given on an annual basis, but rather when the effort should be recognized.

A candidate may be nominated for more than one award. Please review the award descriptions to determine if your candidate meets the criteria.

Past recipients of the award are :

The 2017 recipient of the Chief Justice John P. Flaherty Award was Attorney Colleen Neary.
Gretchen A. Mundorff (Fayette County)
Marion Laffey-Ferry (Butler County)
Robert I. Johnston (Westmoreland County)
Mark A. Kearney (Montgomery County)
Terry D. Weiler (Berks County)
William Z. Scott Jr. (Carbon County)
John J. Bagnato (Cambria County)
C. Dale McClain (Montgomery County)
Judge Rea Boylan Thomas (Bucks County)
Louis N. Teti (Chester County)
Eugene W. Lederer (Centre County)