About PBA         Casemaker         Pennsylvania Bar Institute         Pennsylvania Bar Foundation         Calendar Calendar                
For Lawyers                          For the Public                          Events & Education                          News & Publications                          Get Involved
The Arthur J. Birdsall Award

The Conference of County Bar Leaders gives the Arthur J. Birdsall Award periodically to recognize a bar executive who has been a faithful steward of bar traditions, who is committed to the success of his or her bar association, who has enhanced significantly the stature of his or her bar association, who cooperates with other bar executives and bar leaders to make CCBL the best it can be and who puts him or her self second to the needs of the bar association. The award is named in honor of Arthur J. Birdsall, a past Pennsylvania Bar Association County Bar Services Director who retired in 2006 after nearly 40 years of support to local bar associations.

Past recipients of the award are:

The 2017 recipient of the Arthur J. Birdsall Award was Mark Tarasiewicz (Philadelphia Bar Association)
Francis J. O'Rourke (Pennsylvania Bar Association)
Barry M. Simpson (Pennsylvania Bar Association)
Donald F. Smith, Jr. (Berks County)
David A. Blaner (Allegheny County)
Diane Krivoniak (Westmoreland County)
Kathy Sabol (Washington County)
Susan L. Kenny (Monroe County)
Don Morgan (Dauphin County)
Becky H. Morgenthal (Cumberland County)
Kenneth Shear (Philadelphia County)
Nancy Paul (Montgomery County)
Marianne Canning (Lehigh County)
Sandra Brydon Smith (Erie County)
Patricia M. Martin (Bucks County)
Barbara I. Kittrell (Berks County)
Margaret R. Halfpenny (Chester County)
James I. Smith (Allegheny County)
Elizabeth C. Price (Delaware County)
Arthur J. Birdsall (PBA)